2002-09-26 || 11:24 p.m.

|| anagrams and palindromes. ||

once i met one of my doppelgangers.

she recognized me right away.

there were a lot of sidelong glances and synchronized blushing. and when each of us talked, the other would nod knowingly.

we pulled each other aside: 'you know it, too, don't you? that we are the same?'

and we nodded and smiled and blushed and went on with our evenings, trying not to let on that the molecules flying about us were very unstable and could combust at any moment.

we exchanged addresses. i wrote down my name on a receipt. i never talked to her again.

she was me. maybe if i hadn't moved to san francisco when i did. if embee hadn't introduced me to all that music. if i didn't keep cutting my hair so damn short.

she was me. and every once in a while the molecules around me start buzzing a bit, quiet like lazy honeybees, and i know she is up here for a visit, or trying to contact me via truckstop restroom mirror.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter