2002-11-18 || 10:45 a.m.

|| why you bustin my bwalls? ||

he might deny it, but my roommate brian is obsessed with the sopranos (the house on bancroft street is a little behind the times. please bear with us while we update.). the entire third season compacted onto a non-assuming dvd showed up on our doorstep and now it is in heavy rotation, like tetris. and elliott smith (there is a heartbreak serious blues epidemic in the house on bancroft street). and cran-cherry. and dr. bronner's magic soaps. but. so. the sopranos. it has become a late night staple, and oh how i have succumbed to paulie's very strange white-winged hair-do and the funny was tony talks (have you ever noticed his bottom lip?) and the plight of jackie jr and how much i hate ralphie with the most fervent passion.

and i am afraid it is seriously affecting my life.

as in. every time i watch the sopranos i promptly have a nightmare. last night: something about mountain lions and wolves and chocolate chip cookies. not very sopranos-ish, no, but perhaps if my menacing furry friends talked, they would have paulie's funny lispy accent.

and: my new favorite thing to say is 'pwaulie, why you busting my bwawls?' and. i am saying it a lot. and i say it at work sometimes, usually to my computer (although i always imagined my computer to be a stan or eugene, not a paulie), and. it doesn't go over too well. seeing as. em. i don't have any bwawls to speak of. and those who are around me tend to take every statement seriously, regardless of whether it is in an awful new jersey-ish accent.

item:

me: (granted, very quietly. granted, overtly kidding.) "pwaulie." (hit computer upside the head. apparently the generous violence of the sopranos is also working its way in to my psyche, manifesting as electronics abuse.) "why you bustin my bwawls? you want a vacation, pwaulie?"

bosslady, seated beside me: "what did you just say?"

well. she said it in an alarmed way. in a 'you don't really have balls, do you?' way.

okay. so this is dumb. but. so.

how bout paulie's really weird hair?

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter