2003-05-13 || 1:00 p.m.

|| hand convention ||

o enchanted evening. if i had a scrap of paper i could draw you a very complicated branching diagram of how it all stems from the hand sisters, it does. all in one small bar were ghosts of ten years ago and five years ago and yesterday; southern california and northern california and high school and college and various surf teams/art classes/field trips/shy conversations by the coffee cart at san francisco state. the singer used to ignore me in art class. the drummer is in love with my mother. i remember back when the bassist wouldn't drink or smoke and let me cut his hair in my sister's kitchen. that singer used to draw pictures of horses to hang up in the friendcentral living room. that boy knows this boy who used to watch my so called life in our living room. that boy knows this boy who knows that boy who knows that my sister drools in her sleep. that boy and this boy have gotten to be terribly good friends, and i can't even think back to how they got to know each other... in a shoebox in my room are their letters each addressed to me, filed neatly side by side long before they came to guest star in each other's musical endeavors. oh. it makes me dizzy. and everyone played and there was just as much excitement onstage as off; letting them all pass by to hug on and yell at and bring up some embarrassing detail from 1996. it was an all-star hand sister convention, if you don't mind my being so unabashedly selfish, and my only terrible regret is that my sister couldn't be there to bask in it.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter