2003-08-12 || 11:08 p.m.

|| gone fishin' ||

dear major university i begrudgingly call Employer:

terribly sorry i played hooky today. for the record i was not sick at all and spent the day in san francisco with my sweet sister and honorable brother m. i bought clothes i cannot possibly afford and walked up and down hills in broad daylight and unceremoniously settled myself in the armpit of the dark side with a one-year contract for a cell phone (for the record i was shaking my head the entire time. kelly made sure to point out that up to this moment in time i was perfectly happy with my old lady rotary phone (for the record the rotary phone was savagely stolen by the wolf king some time in 1998, but the old lady phone in all its rudimentary touch tone glory is a charming example of my preferential era of technology, a dear child of 1974.). i swear said cell phone was only inducted out of sheer necessity for keeping tabs on my peeps while in new york next week (please note new york adventure will be brought to me by on the level well deserved vacation hours, whose use was approved well in advance. no funny business. cough. cough.). will try my damnedest not to let the Cell Phone grow arms and legs and become factor of a serious lifestyle change (did you know chanel makes these little belts to carry around your cell phone?). o old lady phone, do not be jealous.). i took a nap in kell's room with olive and egon running around and arlo guthrie playing on the califone (kell and i are now racing to have a son to name arlo. if we had it our way we would each have a son named arlo and a daughter named after our Best Cat Ever minerva). kell and ton and i had a lovely dinner at a japanese restaurant populated by shamelessly fashionable people somewhere on haight street. we dutifully watched the oc. i paid kell ten dollars to drive me across the bridge to home. i lost my house key. i clasped my hands to my heart when my ny sweetie announced between pops and crackles of shitty long distance that he will be borrowing a car to pick me up from the airport in approximately seven days, 21 hours, and 12 minutes.

i didn't feel a lick of guilt today; hope you don't mind. i will be in tomorrow bright and early but my heart won't be in it. i'll be looking out the window an awful lot. i'll think of all those sick hours you dole out each month and perhaps i'll take advantage of them again in the near future. there's a skating rink i'd really like to visit.

with love and vacation time,

jennifer h.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter