2004-03-11 || 8:31 a.m.

|| i want to be alone. ||

too much stimulation and social events, phone calls, evening plans, wardrobe changes, drives over the bay bridge and back, drinking, boyfriendly reunion tours, and delicate beginnings of new friendships have got my circuits overloaded. i forgot that i am an old quilty-robed cat lady who likes to recline on her plaid couch and talk meow meow into watching america's next top model with me, read eudora welty and marvel at the sweet old-fashioned design of the book cover, draft list after list of such important topics as 'what's hot at the house on bancroft' and 'things i would be doing now if i were a constructive person' and 'things to draw when i momentarily have the drawing powers about me.' specifically: i love having the alone time. the lie on my iceberg of a bed and dangle my feet out the window time. the squealing with beckles over practical jokes and sitting on the kitchen floor with the cats while working up the motivation to do the dishes and indulging the mini-haircuts millimeter by millimeter to maintain maximum mulletosity.

marlene dietrich is my saint of the alone time. i will clear a space in my tiny room for her.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter