2005-01-18 || 1:28 p.m.

|| office humor so not funny to anyone else but me, or: nerdin it up with the online help desk! ||

From: office technical fellow Jim
To: "Jennifer A. Hand"
Copies to: [lots of people i don't know]
Subject: Re: feedback re: address screen

Jenn -

After this heartfelt paean to [database 2.0] I wish to goodness I could just drop everything and add this feature. Unfortunately, I can't. So I'll give you the standard (but true!) response:

"Your request has been added to our list of potential enhancements to be added to [database 2.0] in a future version."

Jim

----------------------------------------

Jennifer A. Hand wrote:

Dear [database 2.0],

Have I told you lately how much I appreciate you? I do. I've been working on that [database 2.0] shrine for a little over two months now, and as soon as it's presentable I'll send a picture as evidence of my eternal faith and devotion.

It's just that there's this thing that has been bothering me for some time now, and I thought I would let you know. Just because I would never want anything to come between us. I work with a lot of people around campus who have made the jump to [database 2.0] and are LOVIN' IT! I love it too, especially when they print out and send to me pages upon pages of records that I could look up on [database 1.0] myself. Nevertheless, I have noticed a trend in what is being sent for updating, and it's this: email address updates that are actually rather outdated and formered on [database 1.0]. Crazy! I know! It's just that it seems as though [database 2.0] doesn't show formered email addresses like it does for home and business addresses.

Are you scratching your head? Because I am. I cannot begin to understand your many technical intricacies and why this occurrence may be so (because certainly it would be very logical, nay, integral, to reflect all historical addresses for accurate updating), so I will simply leave this evergrowing email (sorry!) at acknowledging this occurrence, as I have not-so-succinctly, and BEGGING YOU TO CHANGE IT. It would clear up a lot of confusion, assist greatly in the everloving pursuit of accurate data, save reams of paper, and, well, it would make my life so much greater. And it would ensure my never growing frustrated with you again, o mighty [database 2.0].

Thank you very much.

In the highest esteem,

Jennifer Hand

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter