2005-01-25 || 10:15 p.m.

|| stalling. or: you could skip over this one, sorry. ||

so sorry. but i am so stuck.

[Senior year. What year was it?]

1993-94. oh!

[What were your three favorite bands?]

oh heavens. morrissey, the violent femmes, no doubt (!)

[What was your favorite outfit?]

this denim jumper-dress that was approximately two sizes too small (lots of safety pins holding the chesty part together under my armpit. hott!) i found at savers and my ten-hole white doc martens. or girl scout uniform.

[What was up with your hair?]

it was very vulcan-y. or the lady version of the caesar. the pointy sideflaps were where i stored all my power. for the next seven years.

[Who were your best friends?]

julie harris and erin graves and my sis.

[What did you do after school?]

i hid in my room quite a bit. i am sorry/relieved to realize i really can't remember much from that time. i was alone a lot... this was just before the introduction of the disneyland annual pass, which allowed for almost daily disneyland hang-outs and rampant dancing at the tomorrowland terrace.

[Where did you work?]

tj maxx. i worked at the customer service counter and cried approximately eight times during the two-year stint. i got subpoenaed once for a case against a man who threw a stack of jeans at my manager. david kowalsky worked in the kids' section and was nice to me even though he threw rocks at me in seventh grade.

[Did you take the bus?]

ever so thankfully, i was able to drop me da off at the carpool spot each morning at 5:15am to secure the oldsmobile for the day. i did it happily because 1) 'barricuda' by heart played like clockwork each morning on 93.1 (what was that station called?) on the way to said carpool spot, and there is nothing as magical as singing heart with your father, and 2) honestly, bus = personal hell for the brutally shy and uncoordinated.

[Who did you have a crush on?]

i had it terribly bad for matt simon and sage g. m.s. was on the surfing team, very shy, into the ska, and secretly good at english. s.g. was very very cool, in my art and photography classes, hugged me once at the pencil sharpener in art, wrote the most devastatingly beautiful thing in my yearbook that year. oh.

[Did you fight with your parents?]

i honestly didn't. i was a very late bloomer. my mum used to yell at me to get a life because i never left my room. that was the best she could come up with.

[Who did you have a CELEBRITY crush on?]

i don't recall. oh! evan dando. evaaaaannnnn daaaaannnnndddddoooo.

[Did you smoke cigarettes?]

not once.

[Did you lug all of your books around in your backpack all day because you were too nervous to find your locker?]

i certainly did not.

[Did you have a 'clique'?]

i was an interloper. i was blissfully unaware, i think. julie went to a different school so i was in huntington beach a lot. i like to think it made me mysterious?

[Did you have "The Max" like Zach Kelly and Slater?]

harbor house, although i didn't really go til a bit later. there were quite a few coffeehouses i went to, though.

[Admit it, were you popular?]

no.

[Who did you want to be just like?]

no one, really.

[What did you want to be when you grew up?]

a writer.

[Where did you think you'd be at the age you are now?]

i can't recall, but so many times i wish the 2005 me could meet with the 1994 me and let her know everything turns out brilliantly. i like to think she would be impressed.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter