2005-06-16 || 1:00 a.m.

|| . ||

related to me are two grown men, roughly my father's age, who live in their parents' house. they have never lived outside their parents' house. presently their parents are stored in ash form in respective boxes, most likely in a closet. do they open the closet? do they open the boxes to examine their contents? do they get the urge to push their fingers into the remains and touch fingers to tongues in the way i secretly think i would like to if confronted with the remains of someone i love?

and why is that?

my mother tells me, during a phone call in which i innocently ask how to make homemade bread crumbs, she and my dad will be making a trip to scatter auntie's and uncle's ashes. because if she and dad didn't, they would remain in boxes, she says. because when my dad had phoned them to let them know he is willing to come up to help with laying auntie and uncle to rest, one of the brothers told him he should come up because he needs him to hang a clock.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter