2006-01-05 || 10:35 p.m.

|| all my girls ||

my mama has breast cancer. it does not appear to be terribly threatening and it was caught rather early, and there will be surgery and radiation and they'll see its extent. when she told me she was all business wrapping it up in a "good news bad news" scenario. my tough broad. she switched the subject three times; i kept count.
1. jenny, i have cancer.
2. did you get a cat yet?
3. i have some ideas of how you can redecorate your house.
4. dad finished the bathroom.

i didn't get a chance to make a big deal about it. i was standing in a towel in the kitchen.

when i called her today she said dad called her a "tough old bird" but she didn't want to be a tough old bird anymore. she said she felt shitty and had to go meet with her doctor who hugged her two times, two times, and everyone in the office was nice to her. she said she has spent the rest of the day "dithering." my mother does not dither. my mother is a tough broad.

today i told my mum she doesn't have to be a tough broad. she is allowed to cry and feel shitty and eat potato chips and drink wine. she can be crabby with dad and cry on the phone and be scared and ask for help. i think someone needed to give her permission.

***

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter