2006-05-01 || 12:58 p.m.

|| if this is it ||

This morning I met Huey Lewis.

Despite what you might think, I was able to keep it under control. I shook his hand like he was any other man, not letting on that the music video for �If This is It� was only my favorite video of 1984. The song has been in my head ever since, and I am trying to reconcile the Huey-twenty-years-later face with the tanned visage of the man whose head stuck out of the sand and bobbed in time with the music of the video.

photographic evidence proves his head wasn't actual poking out of the sand, but still.

In other news, Portland weather is reaching new levels of beautiful. Michael and I hiked around a bunch of waterfalls around the Columbia Gorge yesterday and I thought I was going to have a heart attack (not from the beauty. From my being horribly out of shape in the cardio-pulmonary regions). We stopped in Troutdale for lunch at a soda fountain and there I fell in love with the perfection of the Amish bonnet. I�m calling out a new trend, fashionistas! It shields your face! It�s lightweight cotton! It�s very Laura Ingalls in the most delightful of ways! Prairie chic reaches the outdoorsy sector: Look for it! Sadly, Michael refused to be seen on the trail with me if I were wearing one, so I didn�t buy it. But I know where it is if I need it.
I think I need it.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter