2006-12-19 || 10:04 a.m.

|| because i'm at work and a lot of people aren't and i'm tired of putting in the effort, really. ||

1. What did you do in 2006 that you'd never done before?
I went to Australia and New Zealand. I sang in front of lots of people and liked it. I signed autographs. I got married. I got a pedicure. I wrote brochures for a microscope company. I got drunk enough to see double.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I try to avoid them, actually.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Beth had Riley.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
Thank goodness, no.

5. What countries did you visit?
I'm so glad you asked! I went to New Zealand and Australia and Canada.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
A house to properly decorate/with enough room so that visitors need not sleep on the kitchen floor. A designated spot for a litter box. Money. A really warm coat. More visits to San Francisco.

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
The day my mom showed me her mastectomy scar. The time my mom spent in the hospital after being diagnosed with her illness. Tour with Owen in Australia and New Zealand. Michael proposing on Easter in his underwear. Oh, getting married. Best dudes two stepping at the Swallow's Inn. Sitting on the porch/dock of Kelly's houseboat drinking coffee and sticking our toes in the water.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Staying sane. Honestly.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not finishing my book when I am disgustingly close.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
No.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
I couldn't say.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?
My mother for being so strong and willing to take things a day at a time. My father for standing by her and no longer apologizing for crying on the phone. My sister for going back to school and rocking it. Michael for cheering me up with his daily dance routines. Laverne for not dying when I was sure she would.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed?
Advertising/PR is a weird industry. Maybe that's it.

14. Where did most of your money go?
The wedding and plane trips.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Hearing the mariachis just before walking down the aisle. That my mother was well enough to walk with me. Going to Australia and New Zealand with Owen. Ibises. Tim Tams. The Office. Snow in Portland. How long the days are in the summer. Meeting Huey Lewis a coupla times. Beth and Bill's baby.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
Anything by Andrew Bird or the Finches. Clue to Kalo! Any song from Etiquette by Casiotone for the Painfully Alone!

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder? I can't tell.
b) thinner or fatter? Thinner.
c) richer or poorer? Richer.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
Worked on my book. Spent time with my dudes in San Francisco. Sticking to a comprehensive filing system for Important Papers. Now that I'm an adult, these things are important. Spent more time with my mummy.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Stress out over the wedding. Let work get me down.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
We're flying to Southern California. Christmas Eve with my family and Christmas Day with Michael's family and hopefully some hanging out with our San Diego brethren in between.

21. How will you be spending New Years?
In very fancy clothing. In Portland. Drunk and disorderly.

22. Did you fall in love in 2006?
Every day, friend.

23. How many one-night stands?
oh.

24. What was your favorite TV program?
Arrested Development. The Office. ANTM. America's Funniest Home Videos.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?
No.

26. What was the best book you read?
East of Eden blew my mind. I discovered Russell Hoban.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
My sister plays a mean guitar.

28. What did you want and get?
A cat named Nadju. A husband.

29. What did you want and not get?
Recovery.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?
I'm bad at this question.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 30. Bryan and Karen, Jason and Dana, Kelly, Owen and Holly stayed with us in our tiny apartment. We had a picnic in the park. Kelly and Dana made a red velvet cake. HOlly and Owen rule at jai alai. Bryan and Karen are the best sports about sleeping on floors. Jason got me a DVD player for my birthday just because he really wanted to watch Freaks and Geeks. We set off fireworks on the blacktop behind our street. I wore glow in the dark earrings.

32.Whats one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
My mother's health.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
Georgette from Mary Tyler Moore.

34. What kept you sane?
Michael, oddly enough. My family. Heavy narcotics.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Julie Harris.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Oh, the president being a total douche bag.

37. Who did you miss?
San Francisco friends one hundred times over. Owen. My sister. My parents. Meow Meow.

38. Who was the best new person you met?
My favorite dudes from Adelaide, Australia. Truly.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006:
You can plan all you want, but you really don't have much control over how your life is going to turn out.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter