2007-02-04 || 7:58 p.m.

|| i kind of hate sundays ||

the cats spend most of their time sleeping. if you spend too much time in any one place in the apartment the cats will sleep on you. today two cats slept on me while i slept on the couch. sleeping sickness. sleeping spell.

m got home to start dinner and told me to go work on my story. i packed up my things and got in the car and drove around the neighborhood unsure of where to go. i listened to AM radio. i drove around the same blocks several times. sometimes driving is like sleeping. i could drive around the same blocks with the AM station on the same way i could lie on the couch with the sleeping cats for hours at a time. i drove around the perimeter of the cemetery but it didn't occur to me to get out and walk. i drove up and down streets trying to come up with a plan but was so indifferent as to where to go i kept driving. this place doesn't have comfortable seats. this place might not have an outlet if my computer needs to be plugged in. this place has bad coffee. the people at this place are mean. this place closes early.

i stopped at one place and got out of the car. i lugged my things in and instantly knew it was all wrong. i got coffee because i didn't want to hurt the barista's feelings. i gave her a dollar tip. the NPR pledge drive was coming in through the speakers and i knew i wouldn't be able to write. i drank coffee and did half a crossword puzzle.

i'm home now. there's a cat sleeping on me.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter