2007-04-19 || 3:05 p.m.

|| i love spencer tracy. ||

under the present circumstances, i spend all day alone at this desk staring out the window and talking to cats. i kind of love it. michael was away on a trip, and i didn't realize i was so starved for human interaction until i called my dad and proceeded to tell him about every scene of guess who's coming to dinner that broke my heart.

1. after listening to his patient uh huhs and oh yeahs in between my rambling sentences, i remembered back when i was little and the ritual my poor dad had to go through every night to put me to sleep. he read to us or told us stories, lying with us on one of our canopied girl beds, and after getting us water and checking under our beds and kissing us on the tops of our heads, he patiently put up with my nightly attempts of keeping him in the doorway before turning off the light. i asked him questions. or went over plot points of the story he told us. or told him about some part of my day i had forgotten to tell him earlier. all kinds of things would flood into my head and there was such an urgency to let them all spill out, and he'd lean against the doorframe and uh huh and oh yeah until i ran out of things to say. this is why i love my dad. that twenty-five years later he still puts up with it before handing over the phone to my mother or hanging up with a hurried loveyou.

2. i'd never seen g.w.c.t.d. before. more than anything, it made me fall in love with spencer tracy. and it killed me every time there was a scene with s.t. and katharine hepburn, and how you could just see how much they loved each other, how there was this magical humor between them i imagine you could only get from being in love and in cahoots for years and years. after going on and on with my dad, i looked up the movie, and it turns out s.t. was gravely ill during the making of the movie, so much so two scripts were written: one with him and one without. he died shortly after, and now knowing that i think about all those scenes that knocked me over, and how maybe they were so heartbreaking because you could see it in katharine hepburn's eyes whenever she looked at him. it wasn't acting.

3. my favorite favorite part was when s.t. and k.h. go to mel's (that mel's! that lousy mel's we used to go to with the mediocre milshakes and high school kids!!) because s.t. wants ice cream, and he refers to fresh oregon boysenberry sherbet as oregon boozenberry. i love him.

4. i also love katharine hepburn with all my heart. did you know she went swimming every morning in the lake outside her house?

i need to get out.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter