2008-01-16 || 10:38 p.m.

|| joan of arc ||

i've gotten back into the habit of composing emails in my head to people i haven't talked to in a while. i understand that while i do this my brain will file each as "complete," and i will forget to actually get in touch. for the record/for my brain to stick a red tab on the edge of each:

john: "it has not gone unnoticed that i haven't seen you for approximately four months...etc."

mat: "are you getting my emails? is there something i don't know about that makes you not want to talk to me?"

julie: "it dawned on me tonight that i can call you to tell you that i miss you. i never thought of calling you before. in any case, i drove past your street tonight, and i even craned my neck to see if i could see a window i could designate as yours, but there was a bicyclist beside me and i didn't want to take my eyes off the road for too long... etc."

brian: "i have a christmas present for you. i never sent it. i will send it, but i'm terrible at acting on that sort of thing... etc."

aline: "i am sorry i didn't sound more enthusiastic when you told me you would come up to visit for the first time in my living here for two years and eight months. i am excited. i've already started thinking of the places we can go, and i distinctly imagine an evening in which at least one of our heads will end up resting on the cool metal railing of a bar... etc."

kelly: "why haven't you called? were you eaten by the coyote/your spirit animal after all?"

mum: "just wanted to let you know that i miss you and out of habit i searched around my grocery store looking for unscented, three-inch-in-diameter candles for you. i found some, three in a bunch, but i realized the shipping cost is far more than the candles, and you would interpret this as my being weird. you would also interpret my welling up in the candle aisle of the grocery store over how much i miss you as weird as well. please strike the entirety of this email."

tonight i drove within the roundabout that circles the joan of arc statue, and i thought of you. it broke my heart a little bit, and then a car pulled in out of turn and i had to swerve to get back on track.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter