2001-02-07 || 4:50pee-emm

|| epiphanies and somethin about taxis. ||

epiphanies i experienced last night, february 6, at the great american music hall while watching deathcab for cutie play:

1. i rilly like deathcab fer cutie (dear molly of achren-land, tito, scotty, and christopher cass: now i get it.)

2. i am not as tall as i thought i was, or those two-inch-platformy heels so carefully crafted on my favorite pair of shoes that i wear almost every day (black. cartoony. vegan. oxfordy. velcro.) have really altered my daily perspective. i was in my clark's, barely clearing 5-foot-8.5-inches, and all i could see were boy shoulders. it reminded me of when i was younger and lived in my roller skates and the house would feel so different (don't tell mum i used to wheel around the house. every day. after school.) with those two inches of pink plastic wheels. the toilet was farther away. i could reach the candy stash cabinet in the kitchen. i could wollop my sister with unencumbered confidence. i will also add to the fact that i was with my 6-foot-5 who pretends he's 6-foot-3 new hotty boyfriend (see epiphany no. 3), and i still haven't quite adjusted to having to look up whenever i want to talk to him.

3. i have a new hotty boyfriend. he bought me a british beer. he said i could stand on his feet if i wanted to to see better. he introduced me to people he knows by asking them 'do you know jenn?', which i thought was nice. he used special soap in honor of our going out in public. he skipped with me down valencia street. he gets excited about music. he is a dreamboat.

4. i miss my sissy. the jealous sound played. they are from l.a. and sound like it. i did not like them, but, if you don't mind my sayin so, kel, they remind me of stuff you like and i thought you would be much better apt to discuss that vein of music. your promise ring and texas is the reason records flashed in my head for a second. i wished i had listened to them more closely years ago when we lived together and sat on the floor of your room while you made sewing patterns out of newspaper.

5. there is a whole huge sector of kids in the bay area who look a lot like me and my friends, but whom i do not know. i was baffled last night by not recognizing one face (besides epiphany no. 3) from across the room and being able to run over and jump on their back and say 'geez, how about that deathcab, huh?' they do look a little different. more radio-friendly.

i strike the last sentence for being a little snobby and indulgent of my indier-than-thou side. sorry. i try hard not to do that.

so yay for the deathcab for steering me in the direction of self-enlightenment.

jenny

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter