2001-03-08 || 4:05 pm

|| laundry money that never makes it to the washer/dryer. ||

money i have spent in the last twenty minutes, by jennifer annabelle larue:

$1.50 on a delectable mini cup of chocolate/peanut butter combo frozen yogurt at yogurt park

$.50 to the homeless guy who asked me for a light and then asked me for fifty cents. then asked me for a dollar. then asked me for a dollar fifty because he is hungry and wants a hamburger.

$1.00 to the punk kids sitting on telegraph holding a sign that said 'need $$$ for a cheap-ass van and live space' because they smiled at me and i smiled back and they remind me of little sisters, little punky sisters who would be very fun to sit on the floor with in a farmhouse on the outskirts of petaluma late at night drinking olde e.

$1.00 to the guy selling street spirit papers because i promised i would buy one yesterday and then couldn't find him.

remind me not to keep loose money in my pockets.

remind me not to be so charmed by smiles from strangers.

remind me to not act on the impulse to collect lost people in the warmth of my jacket, to feed them and talk to them and prove they are not invisible to me. i have so many mixed feelings on this subject and am getting the uncomfortable feeling i get when trying to discuss such matters from my guilty privileged white girl point of view.

i grew up in south orange county. i have perfect teeth. i am wearing clothes (shoes. tube socks. polyester striped shirt. levi's made out of something that looks like denim but is not. jacket.) all of which was bought second-hand for approximately by my estimations twenty-two dollars. i am not sure where i fit in this food chain. i am not sure how you feel about all of this.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter