2001-07-11 || 5:17 p.m.

|| minnie cat hair and kelly hair and whose hair is this in my goddamn macaroni and cheese? ||

i have a thing about hairs. cat hair that has migrated to the chair at work. your hair on my pillow. hair and discarded skin cells in the great divide between bed and wall. my sister's hair on borrowed clothes, long and blonde and kelly: bits of protein forming a perfect strand, one of so many, hanging on for dear life while driving south on the 805, windows down. i once found a minnie cat hair on a forgotten coat, and the idea of her hair outlasting her (where would the other hairs be? besides the ones clinging to the passenger seat of the car. the ones intertwined with the fibers of the house stairs. the ones that were shed out of sheer terror ( porcupines lose quills when they are frightened, isn't that right?) on the metal table as the doctor asked if my mum and i wanted to leave the room when he put her to sleep. were they all incinerated? are there a few of her hairs stuck to gum and old soda on the side of the dumpster behind the vet?). that hair gave me the chills, finding it two years later, although i wanted to somehow hug it, or put it on my pillow, or breathe it in and have it float nicely like a feather in my ribcage.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter