2001-11-07 || 10:44 a.m.

|| are you there, god? it's me, jenn. ||

i was standing at the stoplight and an older man in a suit and very nicely combed very attractive shellacked hair handed me a small green book of the new testament.

are you there, god? it's me, jenn: is it bad to have taken the book only because it is small and green and bound with plastic loveliness? seeing it conjured up devious plans of pulling the bible part out to make my own book, saving the cover, preferably filling it with lengthy tales of romance and boozing and sex and lying on the top floors of parking garages at night to watch planes take off. let me know what you think. love, jenn

p.s. my confirmation name is catherine, after st. catherine. i trust you have seen the paul newman/joanne woodward movie where joanne goes to paris and discovers that st. catherine is the saint of unmarried girls, particularly the scene where the girls (all rather fashionable, having it been set in 1960's france) run through the streets quite drunk and giddy to kiss the feet of their blushing virgin saint for good luck in the ways of romance. for some reason i feel this makes my offense a bit less deviant. for some reason i think there is a chance you are winking and letting this whole green bound book defiling slide.

i always meant to ask how you felt about my choosing my saint because of a joanne woodward/paul newman movie.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter