2003-05-30 || 5:41 p.m.

|| the desertification of kelly, by kelly. ||

my feet are dry and dusty and cracked. hair grows thick under my arms and i smell like one of those girls at the health food store that has dread locks and sandals on. my skin is dark and leathery and there is a permanent ribbon of dirt under each and every nail. my legs are riddled with scratches and scrapes, bruises and rashes. the cactus spines are unrelenting tucked into the soft portions of skin on my thighs and arms. this is not the kind of attractiveness i had hoped to evolve into in 5th grade but i have never felt more beautiful. my legs are strong and my mind is clear. there is not much that can stop a girl who has been walking 15 miles a day through an unrelenting desert only to return to the comfort of the back of a pick up truck. so tortoise wranglin' season is coming to a close. they've all been measured and weighed, poked and prodded and the final tally is in. i am excited to return to the city, to asphault roads and buses, tall buildings and shopping malls, toilets and showers. i am wondering why people dont carry compasses and leathermans around, just in case. i need my sister to remind me that boys that where sandals are bad; to take me shopping for extremely unpractical clothing items and to eat food that has no nutritional value whatsoever for dinner. and lunch. and breakfast. jenny lets have cheesecake for dinner the day i get back. with oreos on top! aha! the desert has not conquered me yet.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter