2005-04-26 || 12:01 p.m.

|| april 25th has become a holiday ||

it's that kind of tired where i really can't see straight. i am trying. i am. seated at my desk i have my headphones on and i closed my eyes for just a bit and it made me hopelessly dizzy, like when you are seven seated in the first pew at saint bonaventure and are fairly certain the eye-shut dizziness is a sign of the gravitational pull of hell, complete with a very hairy arm reaching out from a deep hole under the sacristy to snag young girls by the ankles and throw them into fiery pits for not paying attention to the apostle's creed.
i stayed up too late. the birthday dinner, complete with custom menus with 'for the love of joe' amblazoned across the top, was a glorious success. there were ridiculous amounts of love and wine, and the combination made me get weepy and grab onto the nearest dining guest for awkward sideways seated hugs more than once. we sat for three hours, consumed seven bottles of wine, beamed at brian for his foodie acumen, listened to brother tom's stories about fist fights and dancing (tom has so many joe mannerisms it was haunting), ate so much fancy food. at one point i went to the bathroom and the faucet turned on by itself twice. i had several glasses of wine in me, but i asked joe to turn it on one more time and lord help me he did.
on the way home he was in the car with us and brian gunned the ol' civic in reverse on our street because it's one of joe's favorite sounds.

oh joe.

i didn't think i had it in me, but we ventured out again, post-drunk and plumb-tuckered, to meet the most illustrious mister sprague and co. at an undisclosed location for late night bro-ing down (broing down?) in the form of badly executed games of pool and beer and arm wrestling. my big guns, contrary to what you might believe, lost to both the murphy and sprague battleships, damn. i got to hug sammy approximately 27 times. (note to michael: he resisted all my letchy advances.) i got to spend quality time with my darlings owen and brian and was almost able to contain my out-of-control jealousy when they discussed future plans without me.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter