2005-07-23 || 8:30 p.m.

|| the case of the free shoes and grandma with the white hair. ||

i think i got new shoes for free today. i counted up the total and the shoes were left over. today i have been walking around indoors in them to see if they are me. like trying on a new heart or kidney and waiting to see if it will be rejected. can i get away with this? will my blood cells force them to fly off my feet and smash lamps across the room? i took pictures and sent them to my sister for a second opinion. while viewing one of the pictures, thanks to the convenience and technology of the digital camera, i realized i have inherited grandma-with-the-white-hair's feet. down to the long toes. oddly, grandma w.t.w.h. called me today, perhaps for the fourth time in my life, to thank me for the jar of jam i sent her by u.s. post.
1. she has not tried the jam yet. i have no doubt she will never try it, and my handwritten label will stare out at her each time she opens the cabinet for more sweet & low. grammy lives on sweet & low and crystal light.
2. the circulation in her feet has gotten so bad that she has given her car away to the salvation army.
3. she is "doing well for her age, she guesses," the number 89 pulsing back and forth on the phone line, unspoken.
4. i added grandma w.t.w.h. to my cell phone and hesitated when adding her name. in 1984 she tried to change her name to "grandma blonde" due to a distinct discomfort with the aging process in general, vigilantly signing holiday and birthday cards and referring to herself in third person whenever possible, but the name has always stuck. in my cell phone she is now "grandma white hair." not to be confused with grandma-far-away, who also tried unsuccessfully to change her name to "grandma jean."

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter