2005-09-19 || 10:41 p.m.

|| i left my heart (does that every get old?) ||

the level of awesomeness of my bay area weekend has caused a sore throat and raspy voice, like my vocal chords have gone and done got tattoed by a drunken san francisco sailor. "i love sparks!" and "you bet your sweet bippy!"* and anchors and stars and the silhouettes of all my sweet sweet friends i miss so painfully much, takin up so much space in my throat that my damn uvula is paralyzed.
let me tell you:

1. jason and melissa's wedding was beautiful, and by beautiful i mean sparks-fuelled and somewhat drunken-stupored, where the bride and groom got commemorative tattoos at a wee table with aunties and young young children craning their necks to see any possible grimaces at the reception. we tried to set kelly up with a dude in a yellow liesure suit who was quickly named "butter," and the phrases "butter my buns"/"i need to get my buns buttered" were all too quickly exhausted. jeff checked college football scores on his cell phone in the chapel, in the parking lot, and at the reception repeatedly.

2. a flock of my nearest and dearest descended upon the edinburgh castle late friday night, and for that i am eternally happy. i got to subject brian to prolonged old lady hugs and love on my sister enough for her to get sick of me.

3. one of the best moments of 2005 was hanging out with my jason and owen, old-timey style. jason made up songs on his guitar using the words owen and i had set out on the scrabble board, and the gem of a lyric "i got my gun pointed at your muff" was born. it was late at night, so the humor may be lost now.
*another hit was "you bet your sweet bippy i bet my heart on you." i was saying y.b.y.s.b. is a term my mother uses somewhat regularly, and it's always grossed me out. i ask: what is a bippy? do i want my mother referring to mine? as sweet?

3. i miss my (tall) sister so much i really can cry about it.

4. sara and joanna and becky and adam and owen and i went to fenton's. onion rings + fudgeanna + black and tan (caramel and toasted almond ice cream and impossibly small spoons) = yes. dear sara, i am working on finding a relatable ice creamery here in portland for when you visit. we will bring our own spoons, and they will be hideously large.

5. i love owen. i got to spend my vast majority of time with him, thank the jesus. brian and o and i went out to brunch and there were so many times sitting across the table from them where i wanted to run over and kiss them both and cast a spell to be able to shrink them down and keep them in my purse. or else get a really big purse. i got to hear o's album 8,000 more times this weekend and am so. very. excited. for you to hear it. he is a golden god.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter