2005-09-25 || 3:20 p.m.

|| our lady of plastic bags and puncture wounds ||

my lady went to cat heaven today, after a sudden and fierce attack of liver failure. she was bad-tempered and vindictive, moody and merciless, but she loved me as much as i love her and was my very best lady friend for six years. she is survived by her doting smothery co-dependent human companion (me); roommates jeben berg and the hooligans of 17th avenue, jeff labeaf, kelly herbinson, michael bland, owen ashworth, cass mccombs, becky lasswell and brian murphy; cat friends egon and olive and stuart. she was with me when i moved away from california. she has been with me through four break-ups, two deaths, and countless days that would have otherwise been so lonely and lost. she liked to sleep on my back. she used to wake me up by pawing at my face. she met me at the front door every time i ever came home for six years and four different apartments, and i like to think i never took that for granted. she liked to drink from the bath tub faucet. she loved pizza crust and english toffee. when she lay down she liked to place one paw over the other in the most endearing dainty fashion. she hated my sister, but only because she knew kelly was her greatest rival for my affections. she purred magnificently. i cherish all the cat-scratch scars and cat hair, and will never be able to wash my face at night again without expecting her to paw at the shower curtain to get me to play. she was a beautiful lady with the sweetest loving heart underneath a terribly tough exterior, and i will miss her for the rest of my life, as she has been with me through all of this growing up.

love you, meowsy.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter