2006-07-26 || 11:55 p.m.

|| crow's feet ||

the woman in the office beside mine has a stack of slides at the ready for anyone who will stand by her desk long enough to see them. this is me in 1969. i was blonde and had no qualms about getting my picture taken in my underwear. i held each one up to the fluorescent overhead lights and was careful about tenses. you are (were) so beautiful. you are (were) such a dish.

you see a picture of yourself in the present and calmly drop it in the waste basket. you don't look into public mirrors, only private ones, and you trace the outline of your face past with your index finger. i am (was) beautiful. this is (was) my jawline. it's hard to be objective about it with all those prior versions getting in the way.

i don't recognize my parents in present pictures, even when they're seated across from me at the kitchen table behind the picture i hold in front of them. this is (was) my mother. dad wears (wore) short shorts.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter