2006-09-25 || 10:09 p.m.

|| cold feet, burning ears ||

i'm getting married in forty days and do not feel how i would have expected to feel on such an occasion. how are you supposed to feel on such an occasion? i am excited about the wedding in the way you would be excited about a trip to disneyland, but i haven't a veil or jewels or shoes or an idea of how the music will be executed. it's like a culmination of those forty dreams i've had over the years of being in a rowboat in which my father is propelling me to my nuptial destination, but i'm wearing overalls and haven't met the groom. it's foggy out so i can't see what the ceremony site looks like or who's in attendance or if my sister was successful in her maid of honor dress endeavor. i just have to fold my hands in my lap and hope for the best of all outcomes. i do know the groom, and i love him. i trust my sister's sewing abilities.

i'm getting married in forty days. tonight i paid for all the groceries, my persnickety face soap and his tool set, my canned cat food and his WD-40. mine is his. his is mine. we place our things side by side on cabinet shelves. i eat his peanut butter. he folds my underwear. not much will change the day after the day; we are a we already, but i realized on the arrival of our first wedding present (baking sheets.) that i hadn't given it proper thought. i had a panic attack at the reception desk of my office. weddings are set up that way: you throw all this money and energy and fighting and alterations at one day and lose sight of the end result. marriage. i will use these baking sheets when i am married. i will use these baking sheets in twenty-three years when i am married. he will still do a terrible job washing out the sink and i will still demurely defer to him to make dinner every night while i call out the answers to jeopardy. we will still be sharing a kitchen and fighting over the twee factor of my decorating (plastic horses where dishes should go.) we, forever. i hyperventilated a little. the baking sheets are in a box on the floor of the kitchen.

tonight i was promised a tear-drop trailer in the backyard of our future house. it will be my writing cocoon and i ask for a hot plate to boil water for tea and the green record player. and a closeable door so that the cats can sit on my lap, as that is a key factor in my superstitious successful writing regimen. next to the trailer will be a workshop/studio trying to contain the sounds of AM radio with closed windows. there will be a tin can phone line joining to the two spaces, and we'll call each other to meet in the kitchen for sandwiches. we'll call each other to see how we're doing.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter