2007-05-09 || 4:41 p.m.

|| lull in the itinerary ||

in chicago we search three separate times for enough quarters to do a tour's worth of laundry and sit in different rooms while waiting to change from washer to dryer. when i call my mom i ask who casimir polasky is but she can only remember it's a street.

owen gets recognized in a travel center in indiana. we stand outside and drink coffee and when i get in the driver's seat i laugh so hard i'm hunched over the steering wheel. i had spent the last five hours folded in half in the back seat of a mini van and was thankful for circulation and fresh air.

in canada we ate at tim horton's four separate times. i have grown fond of a medium regular coffee and the sour cream glazed. i left my diary in ottawa and a man named brad emailed o to let him know he had it. he says he'll send it to me and i'm waiting to see whether he does and what was written that i'll be embarrassed about. things like "drawing of my husband in a bar, drunk, march 27."

in buffalo we slept in an attic with band gear and an old poster of elvis costello. the house was supposedly haunted by the ghost of a woman instrumental in the formation of flag day. i wore ear plugs and put my bags around me so that i wouldn't be able to see or hear her.

in toronto i missed australia.
in toronto we stayed with pablo and leslie and i was so excited about staying in a place with cats i pestered them all night. at the show i forgot the beginning of one song and tipped over my beer.

i miss my cats and my husband.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter