2001-01-31 || 4:41, safe from the eyes of hte

|| summer fell out of the sky onto that patch of grass at the foot of sproul hall. ||

Ohmygosh I think the sun saved me today. On a day I am sure would otherwise be miserable because of lack of sleep and too much coffee and bad hair and a perpetually runny nose, I felt almost perfect sitting on the grass, squinting at the sun and reading. Thinking about freckles and summer clothes--trading in this winter coat and long skirt and scarf for my favorite san francisco t-shirt and big beloved sunglasses.

I think only within the last two summers have I come to appreciate warm weather. Summertime. Road trips and camping and going to parks just to lie in the grass. Trying to find neighborhood swimming pools. Watching the stars from a rowboat. Drinking bottles of budweiser in other people's backyards. Cutting my hair way too short. Fake pirate tattoos. Getting away with wearing wifebeaters and plaid pants in public. Walking to the supermarket.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter