2001-06-07 || 10:04 a.m.

|| the dream that took up an hour while i should have been taking a shower. ||

i woke up an hour late this morning. i feel like a zombie. this time i really mean it. on the way to getting iced coffee my arm fell off, torn at the shoulder in a very messy fashion, and i took a bite out of an innocent boy's neck. it was sweet tasting, like marmalade. but i woke up an hour late. because i turned off the alarm thinking that i could keep tabs on the time with my trusty calculator watch. trusty calculator watch failed me. while the minutes ticked ticked so quietly past my head i was dreaming of the antilles islands. my family lived on one of them. my family was very wealthy and beautiful and my mother had just died. there were all kinds of people over, fat hairy men with pudgy fingers weeping into their martinis. sisters who all looked like gwyneth paltrow. a dad i did not like very much. and while everyone was up in arms over my mother's death, a volcano on our island was about to erupt. you could look out the window and watch it. it was covered with the most beautiful spanish tiles, all pale yellow and light blue and red striped and patterned with flowers, and they were chipping away under the pressure of the volcano. dozens of people outside were scrambling to catch the tiles as they fell and chipped away because they were very valuable (maybe my family had cornered the market on tiles and that's why we were so wealthy), all the while dodging hot lava that was spitting out of the mouth of the volcano. i was not happy about the situation. the house was full of people and one of them, a fat hairy man in a speedo, possibly with a pinky ring, grabbed me in the kitchen and started crying on my shoulder over my mother. 'stella's gone,' he said, sobbing. um. i guess stella was my mother. and i said 'i know' in a very cold way and walked out. because i really needed to take a shower. i felt very dirty and my legs were real hairy and i just wanted to take a shower. but no one would let me because they were afraid that if i was alone i would try to kill myself. they followed me around with fake smiles on their faces and blocked off all the bathrooms. so i ran from them and found a rowboat and rowed to another island. the lovely island of showers, apparently. there were stores set up that had nothing but shower stalls and big long lines of people waiting to use them. it cost fifty dollars a shower. i was desperate and my parents were loaded. so i was waiting in line and watching the parade of people march across in their towels and robes and wet hair and someone starts yelling at me in line. i turn aroundn and it's one of my goddamn gwyneth paltrow sisters. i get so mad i wake up and i am in oakland and it is 7:58 and i should have been in the shower forty-five minutes ago.

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter