2001-09-06 || 11:59 a.m.

|| portrait of me mum ||

(salvaged from one of the boxes piled in the garage: a photograph of my mum on her wedding day, taken by my dad. she is standing against a black background wearing her veil and wedding dress. she is beautiful. she is twenty-seven. she is pretending to look exasperated, pleading with my dad to stop taking pictures (she thinks her nose is too big. she thinks her chin juts out too much. she doesn't like the idea of standing there, against the black, with no protection against the flashbulb and brutally objective lens of the camera), but there is an amusement that betrays the exasperation. she is in love. it is her wedding day. there is a mona lisa smile that tells us this.)

(this is my new favorite possession. it is the best thing i have seen in my whole life i think. it is leaning against the wall across the room until i find a proper frame. i love it. i woke up and found it on the wall this morning. it makes me want to cry.)

previous || next || random

guestbook || notes || archives || profile || photos || d-land

Site Meter